Scheduled Elections are held at the Spring General Meeting in March/April to elect members of the Executive for the upcoming year. Executives serve their term in office from May 1st to April 30th of the following year.

Unscheduled By-Elections may be called if new positions are added to the Executive mid-way through the year or if a position becomes vacant due to resignation or impeachment.

Each Election is overseen and administered by a Chief Electoral Officer and at least one Deputy Electoral Officer. Hiring for these positions begins in early to mid-February, with appointments being made by the Executive before each election. Learn more about the hiring of Electoral Officers.

Electoral Code

The CU FIRST Electoral Code, excerpted from Article VIII of the CU FIRST Constitution, outlines all rules and regulations governing our elections. The full document can be found below:

Current Election

Spring 2020

The Writ of Election was officially dropped on Wednesday March 11th for the 2020-21 CU FIRST Executive Elections, set to take place during the Spring General Meeting on Friday April 3rd.

Due to the ongoing health crisis and developments surrounding COVID-19, we will be conforming to the advice from public health officials and Carleton University guidelines, hosting our Spring General Meeting in a remote, online format. Stay tuned for more details regarding how the meeting and election will be held virtually.

The following positions are available as seats in office:

If you would like to nominate yourself, or another CU FIRST member, please e-mail our Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) at with their Name and desired Position(s). Nominations will be accepted up until the beginning of the Spring General Meeting.

In accordance with the CU FIRST Constitution and Electoral Code, Nominees must be a current Carleton University student planning to continue their Undergraduate studies in the 2020-21 school year. Current High School students (Grade 12 students) and Carleton University students planning to apply for Graduation in Spring 2020 are not eligible.

Current Candidates:

  • President
    • Sayfullah Eid
  • Vice President – Internal
    • Robin Feeney
  • Vice President – External
    • None
  • Vice President – Finance
    • Tanner Krauter
  • Executive-at-Large
    • Saihajpreet Singh

Electoral Officers

Chief Electoral Officer: Mackenzie Willis

Any nominations, inquiries, or complaints regarding the election or the conduct of a candidate can be sent via email to:

Past Election Results

Spring 2019 Election

Electoral Officers

Chief Electoral Officer: Anthony Caliciuri

Deputy Electoral Officer: Elisabeth Wood

Spring 2018 Election

Electoral Officers

Spring 2017 Election

Electoral Officers

Fall 2016 By-Election

Spring 2016 Election

  • President
    • Successful Candidate: Alex Wilcox
    • Result: Acclaimed
  • Vice President – Internal
    • Successful Candidate: Anthony Caliciuri
    • Result: Acclaimed
  • Vice President – External
    • Successful Candidate: Gabrielle Genereux
    • Result: Acclaimed